11 Barrett Hill Rd, Amherst, MA | 413.542.2165
Open Tues–Fri 11 a.m.–4 p.m. | Sat and Sun 10 a.m.–5 p.m.
Admission is free
Meet Amherst College’s first official mascot, the “MAMMOTH” found on display with over 1,700 specimens at the Beneski Museum. The Columbian Mammoth featured here lived in family groups through the end of the last Ice Age. This 13-foot tall 10,000-pound specimen was collected during a 1924–25 Amherst College expedition to Florida. It can be found in the museum, along with other mammals, dinosaurs and many rare fossils.
Columbian mammoth (Mammuthus columbi), ~20,000 years ago.
280 Main Street, Amherst, MA | 413.542.8161
Open March–Dec. Wed–Sun 11 a.m.–4 p.m. | Closed Jan. and Feb.
Open extended hours June–Aug. | Admission is charged
The Homestead, where poet Emily Dickinson was born and lived most of her life, and The Evergreens, home of the poet’s brother and his family, share three beautiful acres of the original Dickinson property in the center of Amherst. Comprising both historic houses, the Emily Dickinson Museum seeks to educate diverse audiences about Dickinson’s life, family, creative work, times and enduring relevance, and to preserve and interpret The Homestead and The Evergreens as historical resources for the benefit of scholars and the public.
125 Bay Road, Amherst, MA | 413.559.6300
Open Tues–Fri 10 a.m.–4 p.m. | Sat 10 a.m.–5 p.m. | Sun 12–5 p.m.
Open Mondays July–Aug. and during MA school vacation week | Admission is charged
The Eric Carle Museum of Picture Book Art offers everyone who loves picture books a chance to experience them as never before. Witness the beauty of Eric Carle’s art and other renowned artists in three galleries. Create your own work of art in our hands-on Art Studio. Enjoy films, theater, storytimes and musical performances. Plus, shop at “the best bookstore for picture books in the entire world,” according to Parent’s Choice.
Harold F. Johnson Library Center, 893 West St, Amherst, MA | 413.559.5544
Open Mon–Fri 10:30 a.m.–4:30 p.m.
Open during the school year Sun 2–5 p.m. | Admission is free
The Gallery is a dynamic space for contemporary art and collections-based exhibitions and research. Projects often merge questions from the humanities, the sciences and social inquiry to explore contemporary issues through an interdisciplinary lens. In addition to showcasing student and faculty art, we regularly work with exciting regional, national and international artists. The Gallery is committed to experimental curatorial approaches, including digital and speculative strategies.
lê thi diem thúy, sông song / river song (installation detail). 2017.
84B Old Main Street, Deerfield, MA | 413.775.7214
Open daily April–Dec. 9:30 a.m.–4:30 p.m.
Weekends Jan.–March 9:30 a.m.–4:30 p.m. | Admission is charged
Visit Historic Deerfield, an authentic eighteenth-century New England village in the Connecticut River Valley of Massachusetts. Tour beautifully restored museum houses with period architecture and furnishings. See Yankee ingenuity at work in demonstrations of colonial-era trades.
Open daily April–December, limited weekend hours January–March.
41 Quadrangle Dr, Amherst, MA | 413.542.2335
Open Tues–Thurs and Sun 9 a.m.–midnight | Fri 9 a.m.–8 p.m.
Sat 9 a.m.–5 p.m. | Admission is free
Named for its founder, William Rutherford Mead (an 1867 graduate of Amherst College and a partner in the storied architectural firm of McKim, Mead & White), the Mead holds the art collection of Amherst College, celebrated for its American and European paintings, Mexican ceramics, Tibetan scroll paintings, English paneled room, ancient Assyrian carvings, Russian avant-garde art, West African sculpture and Japanese prints. The Mead is situated in the vibrant Five Colleges academic community of western Massachusetts, and serves as a laboratory for interdisciplinary research and innovative teaching involving original works of art. Eight galleries feature regularly changing exhibitions and installations spanning a wide range of historical periods and artistic media.
Rotherwas Room, Mead Art Museum. Photo by Maria Stenzel.
Lower Lake Rd, South Hadley, MA | 413.538.2245
Open Tues–Fri 11 a.m.–5 p.m. | Sat and Sun 1–5 p.m.
Call for summer and Jan. closures | Admission is free
The contemporary and the traditional thrive at MHCAM. The Museum specializes in innovative approaches to teaching with art and material culture from across the globe. Founded in 1876, the collection includes over 24,000 objects, with strengths in Greek, Roman and Egyptian antiquities; art and artifacts from the indigenous Americas; paintings and decorative art from Europe and the U.S.; and photography, prints, ceramics and numismatics. Through thought-provoking exhibitions and programs, MHCAM serves as a nexus for experiential learning and creative engagement.
Albert Bierstadt, Hetch Hetchy Canyon (oil on canvas). 1875.
Elm Street at Bedford Terrace, Northampton, MA | 413.585.2760
Open Tues–Sat 10 a.m.–4 p.m. | Sun 12–4 p.m. | Thur 4–8 p.m. (Sept.–June)
Second Fridays 10 a.m.–8 p.m. (free 4–8 p.m.) | Admission is charged
Four floors of galleries, including the Nixon Gallery for works on paper, the new Asian art and digital media galleries, and a “Talk Back” learning space.
SCMA’s permanent collection includes more than 25,000 art works from antiquity to the present day by artists from around the world.
Starting in September, SCMA will be open extended hours on Thursdays, 10 a.m.–8 p.m.
Also, ongoing Second Fridays 10 a.m.–8 p.m. (free 4–8 p.m.).
Lynne Graves for SCMA.
151 Presidents Dr, Amherst, MA | 413.545.3670
Open during school year only | Tues–Fri 11 a.m.–4:30 p.m.
Sat and Sun 2–5 p.m. | Admission is free
As the teaching museum of the University Massachusetts Amherst, the UMCA is a multidisciplinary, international laboratory for the exploration and advancement of contemporary art.
Through exhibitions, a permanent collection, educational programming, and a visiting artists program, the UMCA acts as a forum where renowned and emerging artists can test ideas and where diverse audiences can participate in cultural experiences that enhance understanding of the art of our time.
Baule people, Côte d’Ivoire; Red-faced Mask. Wood, black paint. From the Collection of Charles Derby.
1021 West Street, Amherst, MA | 413.256.4900
Open Sun–Fri 10 a.m.–4 p.m. | Closed legal and Jewish holidays
Admission is a suggested donation
The world’s first Yiddish museum, the Yiddish Book Center is home to permanent and visiting exhibits on Yiddish and Jewish culture. The Center offers a full schedule of public programs including films, talks, and the annual Yidstock, educational programs for all ages, and a Field Trip Program.
Free guided public tours, as well as group tours, are also available. Open Sunday–Friday 10 a.m.–4 p.m.